Mar 25 2018

My husband and I just stayed here for 5 nights and 4 days of fishing. We can only say: WOW, what a great fishing lodge!

From the absolutely amazing luxury cottage accommodation, to Chef Ryan’s incredible gourmet meals, and the super-friendly staff overseen by Felix and Kylie it was a brilliant experience. We loved the communal meals and the jollie company around the happy hour drinks and magnificent dinner table.

And then there is the fishing - the legendary brown trout here are large but darn tricksy, but thanks to our brilliant guide Pete even I landed some great fish (and lost an 8.5 lb one after a mega-race down the river too!). Pete’s strong arm helping me navigate the stony rivers was much appreciated too. Andrew (who actually knows how to fly fish) did even better. No doubt we will return to stay at this amazing lodge in this glorious countryside. Thanks guys!!

Gen & Andrew; Australia : TripAdvisor

Feb 14 2018

My first visit to NZ with my wife to fish and take a break. The rooms are impeccable, the food is 5 star, and the guides are world class.

You need to have an open mind about your approach to fly fishing because nothing will prepare you for the stealth and approach required to catch the big South Island Browns!

Special thanks to Chef Ryan and Jo for all of the special requests for my wife and her dietary needs. All of the coordination for 8-10 guests is handled by Felix the lodge owner. He will take good care of you during your stay.

John : Colorado USA : TripAdvisor

Feb 7 2018

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 day fishing trip at Owen River Lodge and superlatives cannot describe accurately enough the wonderful time we had.

The outstanding service from Felix and Kylie together with the meals, fishing, guiding and accommodation were second to none. We will definitely be returning in the near future and recommend to anyone either as a couple, group or individual to put the Lodge on their bucket list.

Mark & Michelle; USA : TripAdvisor

Jan 23 2018

It’s difficult to find enough positive superlatives to describe Owen River Lodge. The hospitality was, without exception, above and beyond in expectations: congenial, helpful, and exceptionally competent.

Chef Ryan would be difficult to top in any milieu. His creations were imaginative, delicious and well-presented.

The fishing experience was without equal: the guides were tops: knowledgeable, helpful and delightful company. The facilities were immaculate, well-cared for, and located in an absolutely gorgeous setting. I doubt that anyone, anywhere could find a better, more enjoyable fishing holiday.

Hunter USA; TripAdvisor

Jan 22 2018

Prestigious magazine Boss Hunting came and sampled some Owen River Lodge hospitality. Here’s what they wrote about their stay !

Jan 20 2018

My wife and I spent the final 5 nights of our three week trip around the South Island at Owen River. Truly the old adage of “saving the best for last” applies.

The lodge is glorious, with every room designed for privacy and with spectacular views.Chef Ryan is simply world class.We have never had better food anywhere, whether at a lodge or in the many fine restaurants we have been privileged to experience.The outdoor spa and the lovely massage my wife enjoyed only added to the ambiance.

We had wonderful, challenging fishing with our guide Anton. Good fish every day with the last day producing 6 and 7 pound browns, personal bests for each of us.We enjoyed the communal happy hour, breakfasts and dinner, getting to know our fellow travelers from all over the world.

Finally, loved the dogs, and will always remember Felix chasing Indigo around the yard trying to retrieve my wife’s socks which Indigo pilfered when I put them down for a second on the porch. Hilarious!

Owen River lodge has our highest recommendation.

Cort & Tammy; Florida USA : TripAdvisor

Dec 30 2017

Had an incredible stay at Owen River Lodge in December. I am a pretty serious flyfisherman so the fishing aspect was the most important part and it truly exceeded my expectations!

Felix did a great job matching us to a guide that was just as passionate about trout as I am. As for the room and amenities, the word that comes to mind is perfection. The attention to detail was amazing.

Great food and great company for dinners. The entire staff was awesome including the Labs! I tried to find something Felix got wrong but truly couldn’t think of anything. Overall, it was an incredible stay at an even more incredible place.

Brier USA; TripAdvisor

Apr 17 2017

A fishing Mecca with incredible hosts, 5 star accommodations and meals made to perfection. My husbands fishing guide Paul was a master both at fishing and making it a delightful day. The scenery was stunning and the 5lb brown trout was pretty nice too! We’ll be back!

Jonas & Cheryl USA TripAdvisor

Mar 29 2017

I spent the last week of March at Owen River Lodge and it exceeded my expectations. The grounds are beautiful, the location wonderful and relaxing, and the rooms are outstanding. They even provide fresh baked cookies in the rooms every day and the small refrigerator is well stocked. Felix and his staff are dedicated to providing a top notch experience. I have fished many places all over the world, but the food and service here are one of the top places I have been.

Guides are excellent, quite patient, and really fun to spend the day with. They enjoy themselves as much as the guest. Fishing in New Zealand has been called the ‘top of the pyramid’ of fresh water fly fishing, and rightly so. I was humbled a couple of days, but every day was special; this is a place where you learn volumes about fly fishing. In addition, one gets to meet quite a variety of other guests from all over the world. You simply can’t go wrong spending time here.

David, Alaska USA TripAdvisor

Mar 27 2017

My wife and I recently returned from a spectacular 5 week visit to New Zealand capped off with a 3 night stay at Owen River Lodge. In planning our trip, my wife (a Trip Advisor review reading junkie) wanted to end our journey with a luxury resort accommodation experience. My agenda was to sneak in a little guided fishing for elusive NZ trophy brown trout I grew up reading and dreaming so much about. Based on the reviews, it was easy to steer her to Owen River Lodge.

No need to repeat all the positive reviews which helped me. Just read them yourself. Every superlative concerning the setting, amenities, facilities, gourmet cuisine, hospitality and attention to detail proved just as described. Surprisingly, what far exceeded my expectations, however, was our fishing experience.

When booking, I told Felix we would be travelling with no fishing gear and warned him that my wife had never fly fished and I had very limited experience. His response, “No problem, we will take care of everything!” Given our limitations, I was honestly skeptical and hoping just to enjoy some solitary river fishing with spectacular scenery and, with a little luck, perhaps hook up a nice fish or two.

Shortly after our arrival and settling in, Kylie had us outfitted with top line fishing gear followed by some patient fly fishing instruction on the front lawn. I fished the next two days, one of which accompanied by my wife. The net result… thanks basically to some impressive patience and the amazing knowledge, skills and expertise of our professional guides David and Paul, I managed to land and release eight beautiful brownies! More significant, however, my wife absolutely loved the experience and managed to catch & release a real beauty entirely on her own! With what I have been listening to ever since, you can no longer convince me that bragging and telling fish stories is just a “man” thing. Thanks Felix & company!

Kevin & Carol; Califorrnia USA TripAdvisor

Feb 25 2017

From the moment you arrive you know you are in a very special place. Having fished quite a bit in the US and staying at what I thought were nice places, this lodge is a whole new level.

Felix and his staff are nothing short of fabulous! The rooms are absolutely immaculate and beautiful with a view you have see to believe.The meals are off the chart good prepared by great chefs, Jo and Ryan wowed us each evening with wonderful food and wine.

Our guide David was not only a great guide but a joy to spend the day with. My wife had never been to a fishing lodge before and I will never be able to top this one. Thanks to everyone at Owen River Lodge for a memory to last a life time. We will be back again. Marshall and Cathy

Marshall and Cathy Texas USA TripAdvisor

Feb 18 2017

Fodors

We are thrilled to have been awarded the Fodors Editor’s Choice award for each of the previous 6 years- 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012 and 2011.

“One of the classiest of several top fly-fishing lodges in this region,the six beautifully appointed cottages of Owen River Lodge, each fronted by sheltered verandas, overlook the Owen River valley. From the main dining room you can look across the valley to a large granite escarpment with native forest. Outside, the rush of the river is outdone only by the sometimes-overwhelming chorus of native birds.

Host Felix Borenstein purpose-built this little piece of paradise. He is a die-hard fly fisherman who has a strong passion for throwing furry little feathered flies into the sublime reaches of the area’s many trout rivers. He delights in the fact that much of the fishing here is sighted fishing and stalking, but also catch-and-release to preserve the stock.

From the lodge you can access 25 fishing rivers within a 90-minute drive, plus many more by helicopter. Back at the lodge you can relax in the cozy lounge, or wander the landscaped grounds, including the massive vegetable garden that supplies much of what arrives on your dining room table (dinner and breakfast is inclusive).”

Feb 11 2017

After travelling the world for over 40 years nothing comes close to “Owen River Lodge” Felix and his team delivered way above expectation on all fronts.

The food, accommodation, location and the warm environment provided a sensational holiday experience. Fishing the local waters provided trout over 5lbs regularly and even produced 11.25lb for one of the guests.
I cannot wait to get back and enjoy the family atmosphere of the lodge where nothing is a problem for the host.

Greg, Melbourne Australia TripAdvisor

Jan 29 2017

Returning for my fourth visit, the failure of arrival of summer did not diminish the experience. ORL continues to be welcoming, comfortable, and relaxing, helped in volumes by Felix Borenstein, the owner, assisted by his staff, including chef Ryan, the long suffering casting instructor Kylie, and Keely the resident golden Labrador. The fishing was awesome in spite of the weather. In search of the wilderness experience, I took two helicopter fishing trips to the Karamea river, in the heart of the Kahurangi National Park.

It always amazes me how overwhelming such trips are, with only the sound of the river and birdsong. The fish are tough and wild. I never have an expectation to catch a trophy, but if lucky 5 or 6 quality fish to the net ensues, only with the help of a good guide. Not cheap, but as an experience, I would not miss it. The skilful helicopter pilot picked us from the stony river bank up and home for cordon blue dinner. Will I travel all that way again - already started saving. Thank you Felix.

Adrian, Warwick, United Kingdom TripAdvisor

Jan 11 2017

Felix and Kylie warmly welcome you into what feels like home, and offers top drawer accommodations from the early morning breakfasts to A+ evening meals! They work hard to help out everyone’s special needs, like my dietary restrictions. They made delicious meals without a problem! Fishing guides shepherd beginners to expert fishermen and women through very technical and athletic Brown Trout fishing on any number of the magnificent rivers close to the Lodge.

The guides are fun, competent and always challenging. The Lodge has everything for every need, so you do not have to fuss over packing. Just come and relax, take in the tranquility of this setting, trek through lush and rugged terrain, drink a variety of New Zealand wines, munch on home made cookies and sleep in the most comfortable bed ever! I will be a repeat customer!!! Thanks to Felix and Kylie and all of the staff at Owen River Lodge.

lcw98, Palo Alto USA TripAdvisor

Awards & acknowledgements

Owen River Lodge NZ: “Fly fishing at its very best”

Ph: +64 3 523 9075 Address: Owen Valley East Road, Murchison, Nelson, South Island, New Zealand

Email: stay@owenriverlodge.co.nz