May 2 2018

We are planning our 7th trip to ORL!

Felix and staff have become dear friends, and we count down to our trip each year! The accommodations are first class, the food top notch, and the fishing is fantastic !!

See you soon, Felix!

Katie; Texas USA : Google review

Apr 18 2018

I’ve stayed and fished at Owen River Lodge five times over the past seven years, and it just keeps getting better - actually I think that first stay seven years ago was the reason why I stuck with fly fishing.

I’ve learnt so much from the guides, and we feel so relaxed and welcome there that we often forget we have a life back in Australia! And you can’t write a post about Owen River Lodge without mentioning the food… oh the food! A top class lodge, we’re looking forward to seeing Felix and co again later this year. Love it.

Allison; Australia : Google review

Apr 15 2018

I’ve had the pleasure of staying at Owen River Lodge 5 times now and my sixth is only 8 months away. Every aspect of these trips to South Island NZ are the best of everything. Best sight fishing for big browns. Gin Clear rivers with exceptional views, the accommodation is fantastic and the food I can’t explain in words how good it is. The host Felix and staff and very accommodating and pleasant to deal with. Even Keely the Labrador is chilled.

Haven’t had the pleasure of meeting the new dog yet but I assume it will be like the rest of the crew, happy to see me.

John; Canberra : Google review

Apr 1 2018

I’d heard a lot of positive things about Owen River Lodge. Many times the hype can set expectations too high, but this was not the case. Every aspect of the experience was world class. The rooms are generous, great bed and shower with plenty of pressure, Each 3 course dinner was unique, thoughtful and exceptional.

I loved my scrambled eggs and crispy bacon each morning….the espresso, extra hot coffee each morning was perfect. The fishing guides were happy, patient and encouraging. Felix, Kylie congratulations on exceeding my expectations.

Tony; Sydney: TripAdvisor

Mar 31 2018

We recently returned from five amazing days fishing the Owen River Lodge in New Zealand.

For the last couple of years, I have been wanting to visit the Lodge to experience their amazing wild brown trout fishery.Having never fished for Brown’s in this way before my fishing partner Antonio and I were looked after by Anton and Hannah, two absolutely exceptional fly fishing guides. Antonio landed the biggest fish of the week at 8 1/2 pounds with my first ever wild brown trout coming in at 5 1/2 pounds.

Felix and his team could not do any more to make us feel welcome and importantly comfortable.

  • Nothing was too difficult.
  • The food was amazing.
  • The staff are amazing.

Most of all the lodge was difficult to leave and I can’t wait to see it again.

Doug ; Australia TripAdvisor

Mar 25 2018

My husband and I just stayed here for 5 nights and 4 days of fishing. We can only say: WOW, what a great fishing lodge!

From the absolutely amazing luxury cottage accommodation, to Chef Ryan’s incredible gourmet meals, and the super-friendly staff overseen by Felix and Kylie it was a brilliant experience. We loved the communal meals and the jollie company around the happy hour drinks and magnificent dinner table.

And then there is the fishing - the legendary brown trout here are large but darn tricksy, but thanks to our brilliant guide Pete even I landed some great fish (and lost an 8.5 lb one after a mega-race down the river too!). Pete’s strong arm helping me navigate the stony rivers was much appreciated too. Andrew (who actually knows how to fly fish) did even better. No doubt we will return to stay at this amazing lodge in this glorious countryside. Thanks guys!!

Gen & Andrew; Australia : TripAdvisor

Feb 14 2018

My first visit to NZ with my wife to fish and take a break. The rooms are impeccable, the food is 5 star, and the guides are world class.

You need to have an open mind about your approach to fly fishing because nothing will prepare you for the stealth and approach required to catch the big South Island Browns!

Special thanks to Chef Ryan and Jo for all of the special requests for my wife and her dietary needs. All of the coordination for 8-10 guests is handled by Felix the lodge owner. He will take good care of you during your stay.

John : Colorado USA : TripAdvisor

Feb 7 2018

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 day fishing trip at Owen River Lodge and superlatives cannot describe accurately enough the wonderful time we had.

The outstanding service from Felix and Kylie together with the meals, fishing, guiding and accommodation were second to none. We will definitely be returning in the near future and recommend to anyone either as a couple, group or individual to put the Lodge on their bucket list.

Mark & Michelle; USA : TripAdvisor

Jan 23 2018

It’s difficult to find enough positive superlatives to describe Owen River Lodge. The hospitality was, without exception, above and beyond in expectations: congenial, helpful, and exceptionally competent.

Chef Ryan would be difficult to top in any milieu. His creations were imaginative, delicious and well-presented.

The fishing experience was without equal: the guides were tops: knowledgeable, helpful and delightful company. The facilities were immaculate, well-cared for, and located in an absolutely gorgeous setting. I doubt that anyone, anywhere could find a better, more enjoyable fishing holiday.

Hunter USA; TripAdvisor

Jan 22 2018

Prestigious magazine Boss Hunting came and sampled some Owen River Lodge hospitality. Here’s what they wrote about their stay !

Jan 20 2018

My wife and I spent the final 5 nights of our three week trip around the South Island at Owen River. Truly the old adage of “saving the best for last” applies.

The lodge is glorious, with every room designed for privacy and with spectacular views.Chef Ryan is simply world class.We have never had better food anywhere, whether at a lodge or in the many fine restaurants we have been privileged to experience.The outdoor spa and the lovely massage my wife enjoyed only added to the ambiance.

We had wonderful, challenging fishing with our guide Anton. Good fish every day with the last day producing 6 and 7 pound browns, personal bests for each of us.We enjoyed the communal happy hour, breakfasts and dinner, getting to know our fellow travelers from all over the world.

Finally, loved the dogs, and will always remember Felix chasing Indigo around the yard trying to retrieve my wife’s socks which Indigo pilfered when I put them down for a second on the porch. Hilarious!

Owen River lodge has our highest recommendation.

Cort & Tammy; Florida USA : TripAdvisor

Dec 30 2017

Had an incredible stay at Owen River Lodge in December. I am a pretty serious flyfisherman so the fishing aspect was the most important part and it truly exceeded my expectations!

Felix did a great job matching us to a guide that was just as passionate about trout as I am. As for the room and amenities, the word that comes to mind is perfection. The attention to detail was amazing.

Great food and great company for dinners. The entire staff was awesome including the Labs! I tried to find something Felix got wrong but truly couldn’t think of anything. Overall, it was an incredible stay at an even more incredible place.

Brier USA; TripAdvisor

Apr 17 2017

A fishing Mecca with incredible hosts, 5 star accommodations and meals made to perfection. My husbands fishing guide Paul was a master both at fishing and making it a delightful day. The scenery was stunning and the 5lb brown trout was pretty nice too! We’ll be back!

Jonas & Cheryl USA TripAdvisor

Mar 29 2017

I spent the last week of March at Owen River Lodge and it exceeded my expectations. The grounds are beautiful, the location wonderful and relaxing, and the rooms are outstanding. They even provide fresh baked cookies in the rooms every day and the small refrigerator is well stocked. Felix and his staff are dedicated to providing a top notch experience. I have fished many places all over the world, but the food and service here are one of the top places I have been.

Guides are excellent, quite patient, and really fun to spend the day with. They enjoy themselves as much as the guest. Fishing in New Zealand has been called the ‘top of the pyramid’ of fresh water fly fishing, and rightly so. I was humbled a couple of days, but every day was special; this is a place where you learn volumes about fly fishing. In addition, one gets to meet quite a variety of other guests from all over the world. You simply can’t go wrong spending time here.

David, Alaska USA TripAdvisor

Mar 27 2017

My wife and I recently returned from a spectacular 5 week visit to New Zealand capped off with a 3 night stay at Owen River Lodge. In planning our trip, my wife (a Trip Advisor review reading junkie) wanted to end our journey with a luxury resort accommodation experience. My agenda was to sneak in a little guided fishing for elusive NZ trophy brown trout I grew up reading and dreaming so much about. Based on the reviews, it was easy to steer her to Owen River Lodge.

No need to repeat all the positive reviews which helped me. Just read them yourself. Every superlative concerning the setting, amenities, facilities, gourmet cuisine, hospitality and attention to detail proved just as described. Surprisingly, what far exceeded my expectations, however, was our fishing experience.

When booking, I told Felix we would be travelling with no fishing gear and warned him that my wife had never fly fished and I had very limited experience. His response, “No problem, we will take care of everything!” Given our limitations, I was honestly skeptical and hoping just to enjoy some solitary river fishing with spectacular scenery and, with a little luck, perhaps hook up a nice fish or two.

Shortly after our arrival and settling in, Kylie had us outfitted with top line fishing gear followed by some patient fly fishing instruction on the front lawn. I fished the next two days, one of which accompanied by my wife. The net result… thanks basically to some impressive patience and the amazing knowledge, skills and expertise of our professional guides David and Paul, I managed to land and release eight beautiful brownies! More significant, however, my wife absolutely loved the experience and managed to catch & release a real beauty entirely on her own! With what I have been listening to ever since, you can no longer convince me that bragging and telling fish stories is just a “man” thing. Thanks Felix & company!

Kevin & Carol; Califorrnia USA TripAdvisor

Awards & acknowledgements

Owen River Lodge NZ: “Fly fishing at its very best”

Ph: +64 3 523 9075 Address: Owen Valley East Road, Murchison, Nelson, South Island, New Zealand

Email: stay@owenriverlodge.co.nz