Feb 19 2019

Brown Trout Heaven :

Sighting, stalking, casting to and catching 6lb brown trout in crystal clear water with magnificent scenery is a fly fisherman’s dream. Thanks to our excellent guide Adam, whose skill at sighting fish and giving helpful tips was invaluable, my wife and I caught fish every day. They aren’t easy and the fishing was challenging but that made each fish so much more special. Definitely one of the best fishing trips I have ever had.

And that’s just the fishing! Back at the lodge Felix, Kylie and the staff make everyone feel so welcome, and the food and accomodation is superb. Thanks to everyone for a truely memorable trip.
If you love fishing, put ORL on your bucket list.

Rob & Bernadette; Queensland Australia TripAdvisor

Feb 17 2019

Exceptional Time

We had a tremendous experience at Owen’s River Lodge due to Felix Borenstein’s ability to truly develop a 5 star fishing lodge in a pristine area on the South Island of New Zealand.
The staff, chefs Ryan and Jo along with Casawndra were superb in making our experience delightful, and of course Kylie made us feel at home everyday. In all of our travels and stays at lodges, the ORL stands out superior to the rest

Jeff & Christy: Seattle USA : Tripadvisor

Jan 29 2019

Trip of a Lifetime

Our group stayed In January 2019 for a week of lodging and six days of fishing. Felix and his staff could not have done any better. The food and lodging were outstanding.
The fishing was demanding but extremely rewarding. The guides were knowledgeable and dedicated and the fish were SO special!!!! Expectations were exceeded creating a most memorable trip of a lifetime!

Homewaters Fishing Club; PA USA TripAdvisor

Jan 21 2019

We had a group of six stay at the lodge for 5 nights. We fished 4 days, including one helicopter trip into the back country. What an incredible experience we all had.

Our fishing capabilities ranged from novice to moderate and we all landed great New Zealand brown trout (a great deal of help came from the fantastic guides).

Outside of the fishing the ambiance and food were spectacular! We will be back.

Tanner: Colorado USA Google Review

Jan 20 2019

Memorable Experience at Owen River Lodge :

My husband and I had such a wonderful experience during our time at Owen’s River Lodge. Nestled in the beautiful countryside of Murchison, Felix and his crew treated us like family the moment we arrived (pups too!). Everything from the fly fishing, to hospitality, to meals, and accommodations were exceptional.

We were in very good hands with our seasoned and highly knowledgeable guide who put us on some amazing fish. One of the highlights of the trip for my husband and I was our heli fishing experience. Definitely worth it if you’re giving it consideration. My only regret was that our time at ORL was too short. We look forward to returning one day. Thank you ORL for such a memorable experience! All the best and tight lines~

Jenny; Massachusetts USA TripAdvisor

Jan 2 2019

Fantastic Fly Fishing Lodge Experience

Felix and Kylie and their team run a fabulous Fly Fishing operation that is first class all the way.

Location - Fabulous rural setting with the worlds best trout streams at your doorstep
Accommodation - Clean, comfortable and beautifully appointed
Food - A World Class dining experience every day
Wine - Fine New Zealand selection
Staff - Wonderfully accommodating
Guides - Personable, knowledgeable, skilled fish hunters
Fishing - Landed 18 fish (the best 7.5lb) over 3 days, takes/hookups from at least a dozen more and sighted a few more that my casting wasn’t up to scratch.
I even caught a lovely 3lb fish right after dinner one night in the Owen river within view of the dining room. How much better could it be?

My wife Michelle and I had a wonderful stay and hope we have an opportunity to return in the near future.
Thanks so much to everyone at the lodge (including the dogs) for looking after us, it was a fabulous experience.

Doug; Melbourne Australia : Tripadvisor

Dec 28 2018

ORL Hospitality and Fly Fishing = 5 stars!

The Ultimate challenge in fly fishing and outstanding rewards. Top the day with exceptional hospitality, food and guides and you will experience what we call in Texas, “neighborly”.

Felix, Kylie and staff are truly committed to making your stress free stay with their own neighborly touch of New Zealand warmth. Definitely worth coming back to Owen River Lodge. Thank you! Norman and Deedy

Norman and Deedy; Texas USA TripAdvisor

Dec 12 2018

The ultimate travel guide for the discerning angler - Traveling Angler, has featured Owen River Lodge in their 2018 annual edition

Download PDF

Traveling Angler 2018

Dec 5 2018

New Zealand’s largest Sunday newspaper writes about ORL

The Sunday Star-Times is New Zealand’s largest Sunday newspaper, they wrote an article about the lodge and our fishery

Download PDF

Oct 30 2018

First Class Fly Fishing Lodge :

What’s better then 3 nights 2 days fly fishing ??????

That would be 5 nights 4 days, if your looking for the best New Zealand has to offer we found it.
Thank you Felix,Kylie, and Ryan, for the wonderful stay.
Aloha Kyle & Diana Smith

Kyle & Diana Smith; Hawaii USA : TripAdvisor

Sep 8 2018

Owen River Lodge wins prestigious NZ Tourism award !

Owen River Lodge becomes the first fishing lodge in the country to win at the New Zealand Tourism Awards.

Read all about our win here: https://www.owenriverlodge.co.nz/blog/owen-river-lodge-scoops-nz-tourism-awards

Jun 1 2018

Anchored with April Vokey Podcast

Internationally renowned angler, April Vokey stayed and fished with us (for the 3rd time) late last season. She took the opportunity to interview Felix our owner for her Podcast : Anchored.

Join April as she partakes in open discussion with some of the most influential people involved in the outdoor/fishing world today. Learn more about their careers, history, relationships, and life both on and off the water. Vokey’s no holds barred, face to face format focuses on the ‘behind the scenes’ of the industry — educating the listener through relaxed conversation, rather than the repetitive questions so commonly asked in interviews. Anchored with April Vokey serves as a preservation of stories and people that may otherwise one day be lost.

You can listen to the interview here

May 2 2018

Qualmark awards Owen River Lodge Luxury Lodge status !

I am delighted to announce that Qualmark, the independent accommodation agency wholly owned by Tourism New Zealand, has just awarded Owen River Lodge its prestigious Luxury Lodge certification. This is the highest level of certification in New Zealand.

Qualmark has also given us a Gold Sustainable Tourism Business Award—which means Owen River Lodge is now the most highly-accredited fishing lodge in New Zealand.

May 2 2018

We are planning our 7th trip to ORL!

Felix and staff have become dear friends, and we count down to our trip each year! The accommodations are first class, the food top notch, and the fishing is fantastic !!

See you soon, Felix!

Katie; Texas USA : Google review

Apr 18 2018

I’ve stayed and fished at Owen River Lodge five times over the past seven years, and it just keeps getting better - actually I think that first stay seven years ago was the reason why I stuck with fly fishing.

I’ve learnt so much from the guides, and we feel so relaxed and welcome there that we often forget we have a life back in Australia! And you can’t write a post about Owen River Lodge without mentioning the food… oh the food! A top class lodge, we’re looking forward to seeing Felix and co again later this year. Love it.

Allison; Australia : Google review

Awards & acknowledgements

Owen River Lodge NZ: “Fly fishing at its very best”

Ph: +64 3 523 9075 Address: Owen Valley East Road, Murchison, Nelson, South Island, New Zealand

Email: stay@owenriverlodge.co.nz