Dec 12 2018

The ultimate travel guide for the discerning angler - Traveling Angler, has featured Owen River Lodge in their 2018 annual edition

Download PDF

Traveling Angler 2018

Dec 5 2018

New Zealand’s largest Sunday newspaper writes about ORL

The Sunday Star-Times is New Zealand’s largest Sunday newspaper, they wrote an article about the lodge and our fishery

Download PDF

Sep 8 2018

Owen River Lodge wins prestigious NZ Tourism award !

Owen River Lodge becomes the first fishing lodge in the country to win at the New Zealand Tourism Awards.

Read all about our win here: https://www.owenriverlodge.co.nz/blog/owen-river-lodge-scoops-nz-tourism-awards

Jun 1 2018

Anchored with April Vokey Podcast

Internationally renowned angler, April Vokey stayed and fished with us (for the 3rd time) late last season. She took the opportunity to interview Felix our owner for her Podcast : Anchored.

Join April as she partakes in open discussion with some of the most influential people involved in the outdoor/fishing world today. Learn more about their careers, history, relationships, and life both on and off the water. Vokey’s no holds barred, face to face format focuses on the ‘behind the scenes’ of the industry — educating the listener through relaxed conversation, rather than the repetitive questions so commonly asked in interviews. Anchored with April Vokey serves as a preservation of stories and people that may otherwise one day be lost.

You can listen to the interview here

May 2 2018

Qualmark awards Owen River Lodge Luxury Lodge status !

I am delighted to announce that Qualmark, the independent accommodation agency wholly owned by Tourism New Zealand, has just awarded Owen River Lodge its prestigious Luxury Lodge certification. This is the highest level of certification in New Zealand.

Qualmark has also given us a Gold Sustainable Tourism Business Award—which means Owen River Lodge is now the most highly-accredited fishing lodge in New Zealand.

May 2 2018

We are planning our 7th trip to ORL!

Felix and staff have become dear friends, and we count down to our trip each year! The accommodations are first class, the food top notch, and the fishing is fantastic !!

See you soon, Felix!

Katie; Texas USA : Google review

Apr 18 2018

I’ve stayed and fished at Owen River Lodge five times over the past seven years, and it just keeps getting better - actually I think that first stay seven years ago was the reason why I stuck with fly fishing.

I’ve learnt so much from the guides, and we feel so relaxed and welcome there that we often forget we have a life back in Australia! And you can’t write a post about Owen River Lodge without mentioning the food… oh the food! A top class lodge, we’re looking forward to seeing Felix and co again later this year. Love it.

Allison; Australia : Google review

Apr 15 2018

I’ve had the pleasure of staying at Owen River Lodge 5 times now and my sixth is only 8 months away. Every aspect of these trips to South Island NZ are the best of everything. Best sight fishing for big browns. Gin Clear rivers with exceptional views, the accommodation is fantastic and the food I can’t explain in words how good it is. The host Felix and staff and very accommodating and pleasant to deal with. Even Keely the Labrador is chilled.

Haven’t had the pleasure of meeting the new dog yet but I assume it will be like the rest of the crew, happy to see me.

John; Canberra : Google review

Apr 1 2018

I’d heard a lot of positive things about Owen River Lodge. Many times the hype can set expectations too high, but this was not the case. Every aspect of the experience was world class. The rooms are generous, great bed and shower with plenty of pressure, Each 3 course dinner was unique, thoughtful and exceptional.

I loved my scrambled eggs and crispy bacon each morning….the espresso, extra hot coffee each morning was perfect. The fishing guides were happy, patient and encouraging. Felix, Kylie congratulations on exceeding my expectations.

Tony; Sydney: TripAdvisor

Mar 31 2018

We recently returned from five amazing days fishing the Owen River Lodge in New Zealand.

For the last couple of years, I have been wanting to visit the Lodge to experience their amazing wild brown trout fishery.Having never fished for Brown’s in this way before my fishing partner Antonio and I were looked after by Anton and Hannah, two absolutely exceptional fly fishing guides. Antonio landed the biggest fish of the week at 8 1/2 pounds with my first ever wild brown trout coming in at 5 1/2 pounds.

Felix and his team could not do any more to make us feel welcome and importantly comfortable.

  • Nothing was too difficult.
  • The food was amazing.
  • The staff are amazing.

Most of all the lodge was difficult to leave and I can’t wait to see it again.

Doug ; Australia TripAdvisor

Mar 25 2018

My husband and I just stayed here for 5 nights and 4 days of fishing. We can only say: WOW, what a great fishing lodge!

From the absolutely amazing luxury cottage accommodation, to Chef Ryan’s incredible gourmet meals, and the super-friendly staff overseen by Felix and Kylie it was a brilliant experience. We loved the communal meals and the jollie company around the happy hour drinks and magnificent dinner table.

And then there is the fishing - the legendary brown trout here are large but darn tricksy, but thanks to our brilliant guide Pete even I landed some great fish (and lost an 8.5 lb one after a mega-race down the river too!). Pete’s strong arm helping me navigate the stony rivers was much appreciated too. Andrew (who actually knows how to fly fish) did even better. No doubt we will return to stay at this amazing lodge in this glorious countryside. Thanks guys!!

Gen & Andrew; Australia : TripAdvisor

Feb 14 2018

My first visit to NZ with my wife to fish and take a break. The rooms are impeccable, the food is 5 star, and the guides are world class.

You need to have an open mind about your approach to fly fishing because nothing will prepare you for the stealth and approach required to catch the big South Island Browns!

Special thanks to Chef Ryan and Jo for all of the special requests for my wife and her dietary needs. All of the coordination for 8-10 guests is handled by Felix the lodge owner. He will take good care of you during your stay.

John : Colorado USA : TripAdvisor

Feb 7 2018

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 day fishing trip at Owen River Lodge and superlatives cannot describe accurately enough the wonderful time we had.

The outstanding service from Felix and Kylie together with the meals, fishing, guiding and accommodation were second to none. We will definitely be returning in the near future and recommend to anyone either as a couple, group or individual to put the Lodge on their bucket list.

Mark & Michelle; USA : TripAdvisor

Jan 23 2018

It’s difficult to find enough positive superlatives to describe Owen River Lodge. The hospitality was, without exception, above and beyond in expectations: congenial, helpful, and exceptionally competent.

Chef Ryan would be difficult to top in any milieu. His creations were imaginative, delicious and well-presented.

The fishing experience was without equal: the guides were tops: knowledgeable, helpful and delightful company. The facilities were immaculate, well-cared for, and located in an absolutely gorgeous setting. I doubt that anyone, anywhere could find a better, more enjoyable fishing holiday.

Hunter USA; TripAdvisor

Jan 22 2018

Prestigious magazine Boss Hunting came and sampled some Owen River Lodge hospitality. Here’s what they wrote about their stay !

Awards & acknowledgements

Owen River Lodge NZ: “Fly fishing at its very best”

Ph: +64 3 523 9075 Address: Owen Valley East Road, Murchison, Nelson, South Island, New Zealand

Email: stay@owenriverlodge.co.nz