Reviews

Apr 19 2013

I have just spent 6 nights at Owen River Lodge. I went there with high hopes & my experience exceeded my wildest expectations.

The accommodation was first class with service to match. Felix’s hospitality was fantastic, I can’t speak highly enough. The guests are the centre of attention at all times & all the staff make the stay at the lodge a trip to remember. The fishing was out of this world, so many quality waters within 1 hour of the lodge & the guides were sensational. I was there at Easter & left it late to book a guide on Easter Saturday so Felix personally took me out for a day out of his
own good will.

The food was out of this world, I requested vegetarian meals & was catered for perfectly. Ryan the head chef is world class & it was wonderful to sit down to such fine dining at the end of a great days fishing. If you get the chance, do yourself a favour & head to Owen river for a visit, you won’t be disappointed!

981JasonK981,Melbourne, Australia - TripAdvisor

Apr 12 2013

My fourth stay at Owen River Lodge-well that’s a review in itself, almost no more needs to be said. The lodge is as elegant as ever, Autumnal colors, the effervescent Owen River and dramatic landscapes frame this luxurious gem beautifully. After 3 intense months at work back in Melbourne my 6 day stay was just what I needed, rest and relaxation ? Well I should say relaxing when back at the lodge, the attention to detail, the caring the superb cuisine , the extensive wine list , the warmth and humor ....oh it is a joy staying here !

On the Rivers however it would be inaccurate to say that it is relaxing. Heart pounding is more like it. Spotting large trout in crystal clear water knowing full well that failure or success is a 1/3 of a fly line away , a 15 foot leader and a miniscule fly imitating the
menu of the day. You live and die by your stealth , accuracy and nerve. Some fantastic fish came to hand and quickly released. The Rivers at this time of the year (April) can be low and clear making spotting possible in pretty much all conditions. The weather on this trip was mild with the occasional hatch of little brown and blue duns bringing some monster browns to the surface. (Tip) The Rivers were almost exclusive to us.(Tip 2) there are so many glorious rivers a very short drive away. Your expert guide will consider all factors such as flow, weather (many micro climates) and most importantly trout activity and will take you to rivers that offer the best fishing conditions and opportunities.

Back at the lodge of an evening your favorite drink emerges before you have even thought about it and the pre dinner canapés’ are a delight. Other guests gather and fishing stories are exchanged. The agony and the ecstasies of the day are relived vividly
and in typical fly-fishing detail. Michael a returning ORL guest is in his 70s. A 7.5 pounder , a 6 pounder few 4.5 pounders were his efforts for the day. Well fished and expertly guided. A couple from Melbourne, its only their second foray into Fly Fishing , they each caught almost identical 5 pounders amongst many opportunities. What an amazing effort.

Conversation is soon transported to the elegant dining room (views to die for) by the announcement that dinner is served. White bait fritters accompanied by a subtle aioli and the chefs own salsa were divine. In fact the fritters were so good, so beautifully
presented that our main had to be delayed as the guests pleaded for a second helping (which was prepared and cooked from scratch). The Pork Belly main was sublime. All the flavor, richness and contrast of textures but some how delicate and subtle. Desert, well I am not a desert aficionado and happily settled for the chefs non dairy treats he especially prepared for me, but I could not help but be a little envious of the mini works of art that the other guests enjoyed. Elegant, luxurious but above all seductive.

Each night the cuisine exceeded expectations. In fact , Owen River Lodge, the superb accommodation, the fishing and Felix all exceeded expectation! Thanks for a fantastic stay Felix and see you next season.

Max

Max, Melbourne Australia- TripAdvisor

Mar 19 2013

If you are planning a fishing trip to New Zealand, the Owen River Lodge is a must.

For a long time, I have planned to visit the beautiful country of New Zealand. My son and I love to fly fish and did our homework before traveling to New Zealand in the last two weeks March, 2013; the Owen River Lodge was recommended to us for an excellent fishing venue. We traveled/fished the South Island for two weeks and purposely left the last week for the Owen River Lodge.

Our stay at the Lodge was perfect; Felix and all the Lodge staff made us feel at home, accommodations were picture-perfect overlooking the Owen River, dinning (chef selections and socialization with other guests) was wonderful.

Our fly fishing guide (Paul) is a professional. On the first day he listened; because of physical limitations (my bad knees) he selected fishing locations that were accommodating to my needs. And at locations, he made sure there were no difficulties crossing rivers. Most importantly, Paul put us on big brown trout and very effectively taught us new fishing techniques necessary for catching the feisty New Zealand brown trout. The Owen River Lodge gave us a perfect New Zealand fishing experience.

Both of us have gone back to the USA, my son back to North Carolina and I to Virginia, with photographs of big brown trout caught in the Owens River region and thankful to Felix, the Owen River Lodge staff and Paul for our bucket full of memories

JeffreyP844, Raleigh, North Carolina- TripAdvisor

Mar 13 2013

Nelson Mail front page article about famous English cricketer and angler Sir Ian Botham, and his stay at Owen River Lodge.

Download PDF

Nelson Mail

Feb 23 2013

Our decision to go fly-fishing in New Zealand was the easy part. Deciding on where to stay was a lot harder.

After a few months of research, we narrowed our selection down to three lodges in the South Island, and finally made the decision to stay at Owen River Lodge based on a gut feeling. The reviews sounded like the type of experiences we were after, the food reviews were outstanding and we could imagine ourselves in those pictures sitting out on the veranda drinking a nice cold beer after a long day of fishing. We have since stayed at the Lodge twice.

The first day of our (second) trip could have easily ended with the wife in tears. Due to Cyclone Evan, our flight was delayed and as a result we had a 30 hour stay over in Wellington. Having never been to Wellington before, we were flying blind a bit on where to stay and what to do. The missus rang Felix to let him know we had been delayed and to cancel the shuttle bus. Felix rang back with a hotel reservation, names of restaurants, and a list of things to do in Wellington the next day. That gut feeling was working out just fine.

The lodge looks like a family home from the road, complete with lush gardens and a white Labrador. The accommodation cottages are separate from the main lodge, which gives you a sense of your own space and privacy and a sensational view of the valley.

The accommodation was perfect for the two of us. Comfortable chairs inside and outside, lots of flying fishing magazines to read before bed time, heated towel racks (luxury!), a big bed and a ‘three bears’ selection of pillows - soft, medium and firm.

The fishing experience is hard to put into words, but at the end of the day it has made us both better fly-fishers. We were fishing at the tail end of a cyclone so the fishing was difficult and the weather challenging. Our guide, Boris, was exceptional. His knowledge of the rivers and years of experience, combined with his great sense of humour made our fishing days memorable and invaluable. Whilst we didn’t catch a lot of fish on the trip, we have applied the lessons learnt and are catching more fish back home.

Believe what you read about the food. After the first night we planned to take photos of the three course dinners. We didn’t take one photo during our entire stay, because the food was so good we couldn’t stop eating it! The other guests provided another layer of enjoyment at dinner. I noticed the seating arrangements change each night, to stimulate new conversations and stories amongst the guests.

Felix and the staff at Owen River Lodge made our holiday effortless. There is only one thing left to say…see you next year Felix!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple

John Dimitriou Melbourne, Australia: TripAdvisor

Jun 27 2012

Article detailing the fishing opportunities in the Murchison region and Owen River Lodge.

Download PDF

FlyLife

Nov 13 2011

The Australian FlyFisher magazine has a centrefold spread featuring the cooking of our head chef Ryan.

Download PDF

FlyFisher

Jul 19 2011

Check out the rave review of Owen River Lodge and our fishery in the Australian edition of Gourmet Traveller Wine.

Download PDF

Gourmet Traveller Wine

Jun 8 2011

Leading online fly fishing magazine have dedicated the May/June edition to their fly fishing travels to the South Island of New Zealand.

Download PDF

Ten & Two

Feb 23 2011

The editor of Australia’s Modern Fishing magazine reviewed Owen River Lodge & our fishery.

Download PDF

Modern Fishing

Sep 24 2010

Cathy & Barry Beck’s review of the Owen River Lodge.

Download PDF

FlyFisher

Nov 1 2008

The prestigious American magazine Fish & Fly featured Owen River Lodge in their 2008 travel special

Download PDF

Fish & Fly

Oct 12 2008

Gold Enviro Qualmark

In 2008 we were given Qualmark’s highest level of environmental sustainability when we were awarded Enviro Gold status. Qualmark is New Zealand tourism’s official quality rating system for accommodation providers and the broader tourism industry.

​Qualmark, NZ

Sep 1 2007

The Australian print magazine The FlyFisher sent their editor to review Owen River Lodge and our fishery

Download PDF

The Fly Fisher

Jul 10 2005

5 Star Boutique & Lodge Qualmark

In July 2005 ​Owen River Lodge was awarded a 5 Star ranking in the Boutique and Lodge category by Qualmark, which is New Zealand’s official tourism mark of quality. We are audited annually by Qualmark and have maintained our 5 star rating.

​Qualmark, NZ

Awards & acknowledgements

Owen River Lodge NZ: “Fly fishing at its very best”

Ph: +64 3 523 9075 Address: Owen Valley East Road, Murchison, Nelson, South Island, New Zealand

Email: stay@owenriverlodge.co.nz